Home > farm, Food, garden, image, Images, Nature, Seasons > Walking Onions

Walking Onions

eto

The unusual thing about these onions is that they form little onion bulbs at the top of their growth.  They also are perennial and very easy to grow.  All you have to do is to get some of the bulbs and plant them like you would an onion set.  The thing I like best about these onions is that in the Spring and again in the Fall you you can cut the stems and use them like you would any other green onion.  You can also do that once the weather gets warmer, however the taste becomes very hot and strong then.   I have read that you can also use the bulblets, however I have never done that.

I think they are called walking onions because they do spread somewhat.  These came from a patch that was growing on an abandoned farm.  Some people call them tree onions.  If you like onions and have space for a patch they are rewarding to grow.  Once you get some started you will have a nice supply each Spring and Fall.

persimmons

 

These are American Persimmons.  I believe they are what people used to mean when they were talking about a sugar plum.  You do have to pick these when they are very ripe.  Otherwise they are very astringent.  If you bite a unripe persimmon you likely will never forget the experience.  I mostly eat these off the tree.  It is a ritual of Fall for me.  Once in a while if I am ambitious I make persimmon pudding.  The need for ambition comes from the fact that it is a lot of work to get enough pulp.  At least so far all the persimmons that I have encountered have a lot of seeds and it is difficult to separate the pulp from the seeds.

I like that both the walking onion and the persimmons are strongly tied to a season.  Now, it seems like most foods can be had any time of year.  While I do enjoy that at times, there also is a pleasure to only being able to have something for a short time and only during its season.

  1. November 19, 2009 at 5:55 am

    Nice post & nice blog. I love both.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

