Home > Seasons > Harvest in Central Illinois

Harvest in Central Illinois

Harvest

Looks like the farmers started picking their crops yesterday.  They are off to a late start because the crops were planted late due to a wet Spring.  Normally most of the harvest is complete by now.  It looks like they won’t get much done today since it looks like it will be raining soon.

Harvest is a lot different now then in was when I was growing up in the 60’s and 70’s.  Today the combines are huge and most of the time the grain is taken away on a semi.  Today once it gets started harvest is over quickly.  Because it is so quick harvest seems quiet now.

Back when everything was smaller harvest seemed to last most of the Fall.  The roads would be full of all sorts of vehicles hauling grain.  There would be larger trucks meant for hauling grain, wagons of all kinds, and even pick-up trucks that were adapted to carry grain.  Just about everyone would be out in the field or on the road with a load of grain.  And this could go on for weeks depending on the weather.  I can remember when I was younger driving a truck for my father.  The days would be very long when we were picking corn.  Usually I would take a load to town at 7 am when the grain elevator opened and the day wouldn’t start to be over until the elevator closed at 7 pm.  I can’t say that I miss those long harvest days, however I am glad that I got to be part of an era in farming that has now passed.

Categories: Seasons Tags: , , , ,
  1. Kate
    October 1, 2009 at 1:36 pm

    Interesting to read about how harvesting has changed since the 60’s and 70’s. I grew up in North Carolina, and during the 1960’s I recall some elementary school classmates missing the first couple of weeks of school because they had to help harvest tobacco at their family farms. Many of those kids struggled academically through the years. I didn’t make the connection as a child, but years later I realized how they were put at a real disadvantage in having to join in on classes that were already in progress.

  2. October 1, 2009 at 4:00 pm

    We had some kids that missed school for farming where I grew up also. Most of them were kids who planned to go into farming when they grew up. I remember that they didn’t take being in school very seriously.

  3. November 17, 2009 at 11:31 am

    Would love to use some of your pictures on my website!

  4. November 17, 2009 at 11:32 am

    Would love to use some of your pictures on my website! centralillinois.com

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

