Home > musing > Men and their attachment to clothes

Men and their attachment to clothes

I saw a headline saying that the fact that men continue to wear clothes once they are past their prime condition shows how attached we are to clothes.  And that maybe we enjoy the subject of clothing more than many of us would like to admit.

I suppose I would hesitate to make many generalizations about a group as large as the male population.  I can only speak for myself.  I do tend to wear clothes once they are long past their prime.  I think my reason is that I do not like to shop for clothes so once I find something that I like that is comfortable I want it to last as long as possible.  And that is so I can avoid the task of looking for an item of clothing again.  Probably I have at times done this to the point of extreme denial.

I imagine this dislike of the process of buying clothes goes back to my experiences as a youth.  Then it seemed like getting clothes was an endless ordeal.  Especially getting a pair of paints.  Often we went to this place that never seemed to have pants that were the correct length.  So I had to stand there and be measured so the pants could be altered.   And then sometimes the pants had to be altered after they were altered.  To this day I am not sure that I understand what forces were at work there.  I just know that I found it very unpleasant.  I had a lot of other things I would rather be doing then making sure that may pants were the perfect length.  So now I take some pleasure or at least relief in picking out my clothes as quickly as possible.  And when one of these choices works out to fit well and be comfortable I do form a bound of loyalty to that piece of clothing.  Still I think I will always see the process of getting that item as being a necessary evil rather than an anticipated pleasure.

Categories: musing Tags:
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

