Home > Nature > Cricket Season

Cricket Season

Sometimes I think of this time of year as cricket season.  Outside they mostly are part of the background noise.  Inside they can make noise that I feel sometimes could cause my brain to liquefy.  Today one has gotten under something somewhere close to where I am on the computer.  He has been rubbing his legs in hope that a mate would come along all morning.  I wish I could find one for him, however I have no idea how to tell if a cricket is a female.  I imagine that they would be the quiet ones.

I would guess that my guest cricket will not find a mate.  I heard a bug expert say that most crickets that get in the house last for a couple of weeks before they starve.   So more than likely this cricket will be around rubbing his legs until he passes out from hunger.  With this knowledge I have been trying to send mental messages to the crickets like “Brother Cricket there is nothing here for you.  You will only find happiness by going back the way you came.”  So far it doesn’t seem to be reaching this cricket.

In the last few years I have been imperfectly practicing having a reverence for all life.  So I am resistant to killing these crickets.  I suppose it might be a mercy since his likely fate is to be forlorn and  starving. Still I have to respect his right to pursue his destiny.  Another option would be to catch him and throw him out.  I don’t know if you have ever tried to do that, however it is very difficult.  Mostly it is hard to find a cricket even when he is chirping away.  They seem to have an ability to project their chirps in a way that makes it appear that they are elsewhere.  Believe me by the time the chirping of a cricket has moved you to near madness the elusiveness of their chirping could easily push you over the edge.

My solution for now is to wear some noise suppression headphones.  They are working wonderfully to block the crickets frequency.  I do know that all the crickets will soon be gone once the frost comes.  So the cricket season probably has two or three weeks to go.  In some ways I think these crickets may be here as part of Karma.  They have helped me to learn to accommodate and respect the path of some other living beings. Or maybe they really have liquefied my brain to the point where I am writing nonsense.  Whatever it is, liquid brain or Karmic growth, I am less disturbed during this years cricket season than I have ever been before.

Categories: Nature Tags:
  1. Robert
    September 18, 2009 at 10:33 am

    I’m so glad most of us have moved beyond the 1950s mentality where one would simply walk into a room and yell, RAID! With one short push of a button we were able to stop the chirping and push the entire world one inch closer to the precipice. Like you, I prefer the Buddhist way.

  2. September 19, 2009 at 5:02 am

    I was puzzled to think you were playing the British game over there when I read the first line!!

  3. September 19, 2009 at 7:50 am

    It is funny that there is a thing for related posts and they are all posts about the game of Cricket.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

